SC Public Radio

Rudy shares some words from "the poet."

Peace Voices

Apr 16, 2018
Glenis Redmond
Peace Center

Peace Voices is a spoken word outreach program of Greenville's Peace Center that uses poetry as a vehicle to tell unique, personal stories. Participants engage in master classes with Peace Center Poet-in-Residence Glenis Redmond, both at the Peace Center and in the community.

Happy Valentine's Day!

Feb 14, 2018
SC Public Radio

Rudy shares a passage from The Dewy Morn, by Richard Jeffries.

Cover photo of a bird-filled sky above a line of trees at sunset.
Kathleen Robbins

Ed Madden, editor of Theologies of Terrain (Muddy Ford Press, 2017), writes that poet Tim Conroy “is a theologian of the best kind, a theologian of the ordinary.”

“He knows… [we] face crushing loss and daily difficulties. We have to learn to live the best we can here, now. … [Conroy] points us to a ‘cathedral’ of trees where we are encouraged to find not truth or healing but perspective—to measure ourselves ‘by how a towering / moment passes.’"

Tim Conroy and Ed Madden join Walter Edgar to talk about Conroy’s Theologies of Terrain.

"There is no season..."

Oct 30, 2017
Nathaniel Hawthorne
Matthew Brady/Library of Congress [Public Domain]

"Woodbines in October"

Oct 16, 2017
SC Public Radio

Rudy shares poems by Charlotte Fiske Bates, "Woodbines in October," and "

Marcus Amaker
Reese Moore

The 2017 Piccolo Spoleto Festival is presenting the world premiere of a jazz setting of the poetry of Marcus Amaker, the first poet laureate of Charleston. The In-Between, featuring classical soprano Jill Terhaar Lewis, saxophonist Robert Lewis, and pianist Gerald Gregory, explores repertoire that resides in and in between classical and jazz genres. Joined by Amaker, the musicians will perform new versions of Amaker's poems. The performance takes place June 5 at the City Gallery.

  “L” is for Ludvigson, Susan [b. 1942]. Poet. A native of Wisconsin, Ludvigson received an M.A. in English from the University of North Carolina-Charlotte and, for two years studied at the University of South Carolina with James Dickey. She then joined the faculty at Winthrop University, but also spent six months of the year in southern France. In a 1986 interview, Ludvigson recalled that she wrote her first poems while still in her teens. As an adult she became committed to poetry. Her first volume, Step Carefully in Night Grass appeared in 1974. Her second, Northern Lights was published in 1981 and began her connection with Louisiana State University Press, which published the six collections of poems that followed. Since 1979, Susan Ludvigson’s work has earned many awards, including Guggenheim and Fulbright Fellowships.