South Carolina Business Review

Mon-Fri, 7:51 am

The South Carolina Business Review, with host Mike Switzer, focuses on news from South Carolina's business community with interviews of many small business owners and business leaders from around the state. South Carolina's nonprofits, including its colleges and universities are also regularly featured on the program, as well as many of the state's small business support organizations. 

S.C. Business Review Archive 1 (June 2011- September 2014)

S.C. Business Review Archive 2 (PDF; February 2003 - May  2011)

DISCLAIMER: The views and opinions expressed on The South Carolina Business Review are their own and are not necessarily those of South Carolina Public Radio.

By now, most of us have heard of STEM, the initiative to teach science, technology and math in our public schools.  Our next guest says her South Carolina public school has been at the forefront of this initiative since 1988.

Mike Switzer interviews Kim Bowman, the executive vice president for strategic direction at the Governor's School for Science and Mathematics in Hartsville, SC.

Eight years ago, we interviewed our next guest's company about a revolutionary new tire design that combined the benefits of a radial tire, such as improved traction and longer wear, into one that requires no air.  Since then, it has been tested on wheelchairs, Segways, passenger cars, and NASA moon rovers and for the past two years successfully sold for use on front-end loaders, proving the demand.  Which has resulted in the recent announcement of a $50 million plant in the Upstate to manufacture the tire.

If you are a diabetic, you know that blood sugar test-strips cost about a dollar each.  Our next guest is a student at Clemson University who says her research team has developed a process to bring the retail price of these down to five cents.  And she has attracted $500,000 from local investors.

Mike Switzer interviews doctoral student Kayla Gainey, chief technology officer for Accessible Diagnostics, currently based at Clemson University. 

You’ve heard the old adage: “A failure to plan is a plan for failure”. Well, there's no better time to put together a written financial plan than the first part of the year. So where do you start?  Our next guest says that there are four areas that should be a part of everyone’s financial plan.

Mike Switzer interviews Rick Van Der Noord one of the inaugural Certified Financial Planning professionals in America, who joins us by phone from his office in Greenville SC.

A weekly update of the news, events and issues facing South Carolina's business community.

Mike Switzer interviews John Warner founder and CEO of Swampfox, a South Carolina business news service, based in Greenville, S.C.    Events: http://www.scautomotivecouncil.com

Our next guest says the biggest change in health care over the next few years will not be the Affordable Care Act, but how people will access physicians and how telehealth will play a prominent role in this shift.

Mike Switzer interviews Chris Cole, senior managing partner with eDocHome, based in Greenville, SC.

As you traveled our state's highways this past summer, you may have seen billboards announcing South Carolina's “barbecue trail”.  They were part of a tourism campaign that was not only successful but award-winning.

Mike Switzer interviews Duane Parrish, director of the South Carolina Department of Parks, Recreation & Tourism in Columbia.

The Capital Corporation's list of South Carolina’s 25 Fastest Growing Companies for 2014 was released recently.  Coming in at number one is an Upstate company, which provides financing to residential real estate investors, mainly “house flippers”.

Mike Switzer interviews John Warren, president of Lima One Capital in Greenville.

Our next guest says that, unlike retirement and education, most people rarely even think about socking away money to pay for a wedding.  And she says that's a big mistake.

Mike Switzer interviews Catherine Latto, a certified financial planner in Charleston, SC.

A weekly update of the news, events and issues facing South Carolina's business community.

Mike Switzer interviews John Warner founder and CEO of Innoventure, and its Swampfox business news service, based in Greenville, S.C. 

A weekly update of the news, events and issues facing South Carolina's business community.

Mike Switzer interviews Alan Cooper, founder and editor of three online business news websites in South Carolina: MidlandsBiz, UpstateBizSC, and LowCountryBizSC.  

Last year, 26,000 came down to Main Street in Columbia to celebrate the city's Famously Hot New Year event.  This year, organizers are expecting even more because they have signed up the city bus system to open 12 routes to assist attendees.  Our next guest says downtown businesses, especially hotels and restaurants, are getting geared up for another successful night.  

Mike Switzer interviews Melanie Murphy, chair of Famously Hot New Year in Columbia, SC.

The Gift of Knowledge

Dec 18, 2014

This time of year, more than any other time, is when so many people focus on charity and helping the nonprofits they care about.  Our next guest says that businesses, in particular, are part of a new trend in giving: the gift of knowledge.

Mike Switzer interviews Madeleine McGee, president of the South Carolina Association of Nonprofit Organizations, also known as SCANPO.

If you are a regular listener of this program, you have probably heard many interviews with representatives from New Carolina, the non-profit organization in our state set up many years ago to put into practice the cluster economic theory espoused by Harvard professor Michael Porter.  By most measures, these efforts have been very successful, however our next guest says that since competitiveness is their core focus, the name has officially been changed back to it's original.

Most financial planners will tell you that the usual advice for younger adults' retirement planning is to invest in the higher risk growth category, like stock mutual funds, and to sock away as much as you can every month.  But our next guest says these investments might not be appropriate at all for a young person and that even putting money into a retirement plan may not be the best idea, either.  He says it's all about the cost of “human capital”...something everyone should consider before they invest.

A weekly update of the news, events and issues facing South Carolina's business community.

Mike Switzer interviews John Warner founder and CEO of Innoventure, and its Swampfox business news service, based in Greenville, S.C.

Events: Moore School Economic Outlook Conference

Grand Strand Tech Incubator Looking for Entrepreneurs

Dec 12, 2014

When we think of the Grand Strand area of South Carolina, we think of fun times at the beach.  Our next guest hopes that you will also soon be thinking of entrepreneurship and technology start-up companies.

Mike Switzer interviews Mike Schroll, founder of Startup.SC, a non-profit technology incubator in Myrtle Beach.

It's that time of year again, not just for checking your gift list and checking it twice, but to hear from the University of South Carolina's Moore School of Business and their annual Economic Outlook Conference, where we will hear their prognostication for the new year as well as outlooks from renowned guest speakers.  This year the conference is next Tuesday, Dec. 16th and it will be held for the first time in the brand new Moore School building.

Annual Juried Craft Fair Succeeds in Columbia

Dec 10, 2014

You've probably heard of juried art shows before, but how about asking craftsmen and women to submit their work before they will be accepted to an event?  It's been happening in Columbia for a while now and our next guests say there has been no shortage of entrants.

Mike Switzer interviews Debi Schadel, founder and director of Crafty Feast and Shigeharu Kobayashi, one of the event's judges.

Five Important Considerations Prior to Retirement

Dec 9, 2014

As a new year fast approaches, many of you may also be looking toward retirement.  Our next guest says that if you are, there are five important considerations you should be aware of.

Mike Switzer interviews Bryan Ballentine, a certified financial planner with Ballentine Capital Advisors in Greenville, SC.

A weekly update of the news, events and issues facing South Carolina's business community.

Mike Switzer interviews John Warner founder and CEO of Innoventure, and its Swampfox business news service, based in Greenville, S.C.

Events: Moore School Economic Outlook Conference

Homelessness continues to be a concern to cities and businesses across South Carolina.  Our next guest runs the state's largest homeless shelter and service provider, which recently re-branded itself to reflect what it really provides its clients: a chance to turn their lives around.

Mike Switzer interviews Stacy Denaux, CEO of One-Eighty Place in Charleston.

Pharmaceutical Firm Comes Home to South Carolina

Dec 4, 2014

After starting and growing a successful generic drug manufacturing company to the point of needing to expand and build new space at their headquarters in Orlando, Florida, our next guest's company decided to look homeward to South Carolina.  In June, they moved in to their new 400,000 square foot facility in Lexington County.

Mike Switzer interviews Lou Kennedy, President and co-founder of Nephron Pharmaceuticals.

You've probably heard a couple of our interviews with some of the newest breweries in our state over the past year as that industry is growing rapidly after favorable legislation was enacted in 2013.  Growth is so good in fact, that college courses in brewing and brewery operations will soon be available in South Carolina.

Mike Switzer interviews Marilyn Fore, a senior vice president at Horry-Georgetown Technical College in Conway, SC.

Stock Market Volatility Getting to You?

Dec 2, 2014

The Dow Jones Industrial Average, the most widely watched stock market indicator, has gone up and down and up again over 1,000 points over the last few months.  And that kind of volatility bothers a lot of investors who, according to our next guest, would be better served by remaining focused on their goals and not on the day-to-day happenings in the financial markets.

Mike Switzer interviews Frank Braddock, a certified financial planner with JHS Capital Advisors in Columbia, SC.

SC Business Update From John "SwampFox" Warner

Dec 1, 2014

A weekly update of the news, events and issues facing South Carolina's business community.

Mike Switzer interviews John Warner founder and CEO of Innoventure, and its Swampfox business news service, based in Greenville, S.C.  Events: Moore School Economic Outlook Conference

Unique Language Learning System Helping SC Youth

Nov 28, 2014

(This is a repeat of a previous episode) Four years ago, we interviewed an Irish-American writer and educator who had developed a unique system of teaching languages, in particular Latin and Spanish.  He has since written and self-published several text books that are now being used in private schools all over South Carolina.

Mike Switzer interviews Finnbarr Dunphy, founder of Teach Teanga II - Languages Alive, based in Columbia, SC.

Charleston’s Dilapidated Homes Being Resuscitated

Nov 27, 2014

(This is a repeat of a previous episode) If you've been to Charleston, SC, you know the city is filled with old buildings, many of them historic and many of them in disrepair.  Over the past year, our next guest's company has acquired over 40 of these properties, renovating and restoring them mostly for home buyers, but also for investors.

Mike Switzer interviews Chris Leigh-Jones, co-owner of Luxury Simplified Group based in Charleston.

Tax Credits Fund Local Economic Growth

Nov 14, 2014

It's that time of year when you may be looking at your tax situation and as a result, looking for tax breaks.  Our next guest says he knows a good one that will also provide a direct benefit to our state's economy.

Mike Switzer interviews Bernie Mazyck is president and CEO of the South Carolina Association of Community Economic Development.

SC's I-77 Counties Collaborate for Economic Growth

Nov 12, 2014

Each year, South Carolina's General Assembly allocates some of your tax dollars to supporting our state's regional economic development organizations. This latest fiscal year saw $5 million doled out through the South Carolina Department of Commerce, $675,000 of that to a new partnership run by our next guest.

Mike Switzer interviews Rich Fletcher is the president and CEO of the I-77 Alliance, which is comprised of York, Chester, Fairfield and Richland counties.

Pages